Skip to Main Content

Northern Health Library: Getting started with search


Would you like to:

   
 

Getting started with searching

Request some training!

You can book in with a librarian for one-on-one training (in person or on MS Teams).

If you or your team are interested, please send us an email!

 

How to use this page

How this page works

Firstly, welcome. Searching for research and literature is a constantly evolving skill. The basics are outlined here. We encourage you to contact us for more detailed advice and guidance.

1. Brush up on the basics of search via short online videos - immediately below

2. Investigate more specific features of Medline, PubMed, EMBASE, CINAHL, and PsycINFO - scroll down further

3. Continue on with in-depth self-paced learning modules to further develop your search skills and knowledge.

How to search

How to search 

This informative series created by an experienced medical librarian and expert searcher takes you through a guided process on how to create a great search. Watch the whole series or focus in on the area giving you trouble using the full list below.

Searching School by Carrie Price - the complete series

Part 1: Searching School Introduction (3.24 mins)

Part 2: Translating the Research Question (3.56 mins)

Part 3: Boolean Operators (4.55 mins)

Part 4: Subject Headings (4.02 mins)

Part 5: Keywords (5.43 mins)

Part 6: Spelling, Syntax, Line Numbers (2.19 mins)

Part 7: Limits and Filters (3.46 mins)

Part 8: Translating Across Platforms (2.07 mins)

Part 9: Search Reporting (3.15 mins)

Part 10: Searching School Debrief (0.50 mins)


Learn how to conduct a search in CINAHL by combining subject headings and keywords. Created by the Griffith University Library.

Rigorous searching in CINAHL using subject headings and keywords (4.58 mins)

Databases

Guidance for specific databases 

  • Every database will look slightly different, but the general principles of searching will apply

  • Every database has its own thesaurus / controlled vocabulary that it uses to index or "tag" records

  • Every database has the option of creating a personal account to save searches and/or records found

For information on how to use a specific database, click on its name below.

Controlled vocabulary is Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). You can search for MeSH terms inside the database, or via the MeSH Browser at https://meshb.nlm.nih.gov/ 

Guides:

If accessing Medline via OVID:


If accessing Medline via EBSCO:

Controlled vocabulary is Emtree. You can search for Emtree terms inside the database.

Video guides:

  • Introduction to EMBASE
  • Advanced keyword searching
  • Searching with EMTREE subject headings

    • Controlled vocabulary is CINAHL Subject Headings. You can search for these terms inside the database.

    Video guides:

  • Overview of CINAHL
  • Searching CINAHL
  • Searching CINAHL using subject headings

    • Handout: Searching CINAHL

    Controlled vocabulary is Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. You can search for these terms inside the database.

    Video guides:

  • Introduction to PsycINFO
  • Advanced keyword searching
  • Searching with thesaurus terms

    • Handout: Searching PsycINFO

    Self-paced learning

    Self-paced learning for more search skills

    If you prefer to undertake self-paced training, the following resources may be useful:

    Contact us banner